To begin…

Welcome to beccabakesbrownies!

I’m Becca. Baker, cook, brownie-lover and unashamed feeder. I’m a Londoner, with an obsession with food.

Happiness, sadness, pleasure, irritation and frustration – these emotions are all triggered by what I cook and eat. It is not unknown that these emotions can occur in one sitting, which makes for a rather confusing dining experience for my companion!

Baking is one of the biggest loves in my life. Having always loved eating cake, it wasn’t until I turned 20 that I truly fell in love with baking. I began baking during a university holiday for a local coffee shop to earn some extra cash, and promptly found myself living and breathing all things cake. I would watch my customers like a hawk, eagerly hanging over the cafe counter to observe their reactions following their first bite of a Victoria sponge, down to the very last crumb. With each flapjack or muffin I sold, my love for baking grew. A tweet in the local paper about my lemon cake put a smile on my face for a week. Granted, it wasn’t the most exciting tweet but a mere mention of something I baked plonked me straight onto on cloud nine! For me, baking can illicit pure, unadulterated joy.

The same goes for cooking. I am very lucky to live in such a diverse, buzzing and multicultural city, in which some of the world’s greatest culinary pleasures are experienced. My own cooking is influenced by the vast culinary delights that London has to offer.

My relationship with food may sound rather romantic and passionate, but this has not always been the case. I don’t wish to use this blog as an outlet for personal issues, but I also do not believe in creating a false image of myself. I have struggled with eating in the past, with my weight and consequently, my health. Luckily, I am in a much better place now, and I really do believe that this is because I fell in love with food and cycling. I’ve hit a few bumps in the road since, one being a very recent bump (more like gigantic man-hole in the middle of a cycle lane in central London), namely diabetes. As a baker, I can tell you that this is a giant pain in the backside, and one which I am yet to fully understand and manage. However, I am nothing but adaptable, and hopefully this blog will encourage others who love to cook and bake to keep at it, and make those necessary changes so as to stay completely and utterly in love with food.

And with that – welcome to my blog! I will post recipes, thoughts, and general food excitement as often as I can.

fullsizerender-1

Leave a Reply

