Banana Bread: low on sugar, BIG on flavour

Darling reader. I want you to imagine walking into a room, and the smell of freshly baked banana bread fills your nostrils with its wondrous aroma. Let the smell wash over you, and feel your mouth begin to water. This is one of the best smells in the world. Are you drooling yet?

While brownies represent indulgence, banana bread represents comfort. Its sweet, warm spices remind me of snuggling up on a cold day, with a cup of tea and a book. Or just stuffing it down while standing at the kitchen counter (the much more realistic version of this daydream). Banana bread is so versatile and helps to avoid food waste! The best banana bread is made from overly ripe bananas, in fact the browner they are, the better. So instead of resigning those sad bananas lounging around in the fruit bowl for over a week to the bin, spend 15 minutes whipping up a banana bread for a nostalgic, delicious treat.

Despite having fruit as its main ingredient, most banana bread recipes are not diabetic-friendly. Bananas themselves are pretty high in sugar, but the added sugar and white flour make it a very high carb and high sugar snack.

Given how much I adore it, I refused to entertain the idea that I couldn’t eat banana bread. So with this in mind, I set about to find a way to enjoy a lower sugar version. The following recipe is based on the Diabetes UK version, which is available online.

Made with wholemeal flour and rapeseed oil instead of butter, this version is far healthier than most traditional recipes. Additionally, I used very little sugar. The sweetness of the bread comes from the blueberries and ripe bananas. Enjoy!

  • 2 large bananas (the riper, the better)
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tbsp rapeseed oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 75g soft light-brown sugar
  • 150g wholemeal flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg, 1/8 tsp ground cloves.
  • Small handful of blueberries
  1. Preheat your oven to 170°C/ gas mark 3.
  2. Peel and mash the bananas (a fork is fine), add the eggs and beat together
  3. Add the rapeseed oil, vanilla extract and sugar to the bowl. Mix well.
  4. Stir in the flour, baking powder and the spice, then fold in the blueberries.
  5. Pour the batter into a 2lb loaf tin.
  6. Bake for 50–55 minutes, until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  7. Cool in the tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a rack to cool completely.

Tip: My willpower is distinctly lacking when it comes to banana bread, so with as much strength as I could muster, I waited until it was completely cooled, then sliced the bread. I halved each slice, and popped them into the freezer.

When I feel a sugar craving coming on, or I simply wish to treat myself, I take out a piece to defrost for 20 minutes, then lightly toast it. With a teeny bit of spread or butter, it’s absolutely beautiful.

Enjoy! Love Becca x

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    Oh wow – this sounds perfect for that ‘treat’ when I just need to ‘break’ my low carb regime.. without it being a complete disaster.. I’ll definitely be giving this a try when my new kitchen is finished and I actually have an oven to bake it in.. Can’t wait! Thanks for popping across to my blog too.. x

    Like

    1. Becca Bakes says:

      Thanks Wendy! It’s such a great treat. Let me know how it turns out! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wendy says:

        I will Becca! x

        Like

  2. Andrew Marco says:

    I’m definitely read to try this recipe out, I love banana bread! I usually end up not making it on my own and try other’s. But I think this shall inspire me to do it.

    Have you ever shared your work on other sites before?

    Like

    1. Becca Bakes says:

      I’m so glad you’re feeling inspired! I hope you enjoy it :). This is the first time I’ve shared my recipes. x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrew Marco says:

    I’m glad that you’re sharing them, it’s great!

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? We have an awesome community of food lovers and sharers, would you be interested in sharing your articles/recipes with us? Check us out: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

