Out and About: Broadway Market

Broadway Market is a little haven in Hackney, selling the most enticing fresh produce, delicious street food and baked goods. If you haven’t been yet, you should definitely check it out! Nestled in behind London Fields, the market is buzzing on a Saturday, filled with young couples, families, friends, old-timers and newcomers.

Broadway is on the top of my Saturday adventure list. It’s home to some of my favourite baked goods stalls: Violet, Crosstown Doughnuts, Bad Brownie… the list goes on! I love its sounds and smells, the people milling about doing their shopping, and chatting to different stallholders about their goods. It’s also a fabulous place for dog-watching!

Last weekend, I headed over to Broadway with the boyfriend. Given the vast array of different choices, there is always an opportunity to try something new and exciting. It was, however, the first time I had been to Broadway since my diabetes diagnosis, and it was a challenge. Squatting in a queue while taking my blood sugar measurement was one thing, but having to stay very strong and ignore the intoxicating smells of burgers, curries, dumplings, hog roasts and chips was a whole other ball game! Street food doesn’t exactly scream low-carb, and with my determination to remain adventurous, I was adamant to avoid the salad stall…

Luckily, I found the most amazing Caribbean (Guadeloupe, specifically) stall with a wonderful lady standing behind 3 steaming vats of mouth-watering, heavenly curries. The choices were fish, chicken or pork. Opting for the pork, this dish was a taste explosion with every mouthful. With just a little portion of rice to soak up the delicious juices, it didn’t send my blood-sugar levels souring. Result!

 Marsala Pork; served with rice and hot chilli sauce (optional)

Eating out can be quite daunting when you’re on a special diet, or if you’re trying to cut back on the carbs. I would always encourage everyone to treat themselves, but if you’re standing strong, please go and get some Guadeloupe pork. I’m still dreaming about it.

Markets can be especially overwhelming, and the temptation to stuff down a brownie at lightening speed is oh so familiar. Trust me, I went through all of the emotions on Saturday! Inspired by this dish, I’m definitely going to give it a go at home! Recipe (hopefully) soon to follow…

Becca x

 

Leave a Reply

