Taking control! Healthy food, healthy mind.

Two months ago, I was diagnosed with diabetes. Suddenly, my world was spinning and I felt like I was losing control. Having struggled with my relationship with food in the past, I was, and occasionally remain quite nervous about eating.

My blood sugar levels are all over the place at the moment, and it’s incredibly frustrating to see a high number flash up on the blood reader after I’ve been eating well all day. It reminds me of when I was losing weight in the past, and the numbers on the scales didn’t change after a week of very conscious eating and exercising. At times, it makes me nervous to eat at all, because I don’t want the numbers to rise.

It’s incredibly frustrating, but I have to remind myself that eventually, I will find the right programme to keep me on track, and manage my diabetes. Also, we all need to eat, and furthermore, we need to eat food that we enjoy. As a cook and a baker, so much of my enjoyment in life comes from food. If I want to indulge, I will have cake. Except that my portion will be small. That sounds sad, but at least I get cake! Also, as soon as I stopped eating chocolate everyday, I honestly thought about it a lot less. Now, when I have a square of dark chocolate I savour it, and really enjoy it!

Some things in life are out of my control, but food is not one of them. I am accountable to myself, and only myself. I am the one who puts food into my body, and it is my responsibility to ensure that it is nourishing, balanced, and full of goodness. It’s all about balance. Cooking all of my meals from scratch gives me full control of my diet. I know exactly what I am eating, and avoid all the nasty additives that lurk inside pre-packed food. Trust me, once you start cooking from scratch, you’ve already cut out a load of stuff that your body doesn’t want, or need. Your skin, your body, and your mind will thank you for it!

Changing your eating habits can be daunting. Seven years ago, I took that plunge, and made a big change. I was overweight, and desperately unhappy. I had dieted unsuccessfully in the past, and I truly believe that my weight loss success was borne out of a changed vision. I refused to use the word ‘diet’, rather I saw my healthy eating as a lifestyle. It’s not a quick fix, there’s no magic potion, and you really have to want to change. Once you start doing that, you’re well on your way to making much more positive choices.

It saddens me that so many people think that a healthy lifestyle is expensive. Of course, there are expensive lifestyle habits you can choose to engage in, but this is not necessary. I was a student when I lost all that weight, and simply didn’t have the budget to invest in lots of different nuts, seeds, oils and exotic vegetables. I followed a very traditional method (sorry, no magic potions!) and steadily lost the excess weight on a very balanced diet of lean meat, vegetables, fish, and pulses. Beans, lentils and soups were my saviours. So I promise you, it can be done!

For me, it’s all about balance. I have to be pretty strict with myself to keep on track with my current regime, but I’m not going to deny myself the things that I love. I just have to adapt a little.

So I will continue to bake beautiful, and indulgent creations. I love to bake for my family and friends, so there will be lots of posts in the future about the sweet, buttery, indulgences I make. But there will also be lots of posts about salads, sugar-free bakes, and other healthy creations. Because life is all about balance.

Love Becca x

Leave a Reply

