Yoghurt Cake with Pistachio, Lemon and Cardamom

When I was younger, the only sort of dessert that interested me was a chocolate-based, gooey, ‘naughty’ one. Perhaps my taste buds have changed, although there will always be a place in my heart for something hideously rich, decadent and indulgent, but these days I find myself veering towards something a little different. Something lighter, more fragrant, and maybe a little fruity. Something along the lines of this beautiful yoghurt cake, which I will happily rave about to anyone that will listen!

While leafing through my mother’s cookbook collection many years ago, I came across Claudia Roden’s Book of Middle Eastern Food. It was on that day that my love for Middle Eastern food was truly born, and I will confidently maintain that Claudia Roden is the Queen of Middle Eastern cuisine.  From Roden to Ottolenghi, I have made a fair few recipes with Middle Eastern influences over the past few years. Having stuck to mostly savoury recipes, I had never really ventured into the world of Middle Eastern baking until today.  This was mostly due to the heavy syrup/sugar content which is typical of most recipes, so it really was a wonderful and exciting day when I came across this yoghurt cake!

I found this version by Thomasina Myers here, in The Guardian Cook section last weekend. Due to its lower flour and refined sugar content, it really stood out for me. Think cheesecake. Think fragrant, floral, feather-light flavours and textured. Now think of this cake. Make it, please, because it’s absolutely delightful. It’s a beautiful dessert, a little twist from the usual. It isn’t overly sweet, in the way that many cheesecakes can be. Instead it is rich, while remaining pleasantly light.

Switch the flour to regular gluten-free white flour if necessary. Add some more lemon if you fancy. Or stick to the original recipe, trust me – it’s a dream.

Enjoy! Love Becca x

Leave a Reply

