Smart Snacking: Homemade Popcorn

Switching to a lower sugar/low carb diet hasn’t actually been as difficult as I expected it to be. I’ve adapted quite well with carb substitutes like cauliflower rice, and upped my grain and pulse game to a whole new level. The most difficult part was changing my snacking habits.

I used to be quite a habitual snacker, especially when it came to 4pm and my energy levels were declining. The cakes and biscuits at work would call out to me as my brain was switching off, and I would inevitably reach for a biscuit (or four), adding a crazy amount of refined sugar and unnecessary junk to my otherwise healthy day.

I have a sweet tooth that can scream uncontrollably to be satisfied. I find that if I completely deny myself sweet treats, I’m just going to binge sooner or later. So I learnt to be smart about it. Little healthier treats now and then are absolutely fine, and mean that I’m less likely to attack the milk chocolate when it comes my way.

I used to go MAD for shop-bought popcorn. That sweet and savoury mix is absolutely irresistible, and I could eat those bags until the cows came home. Even though there are some amazing lower calorie bags out there, the sweet and savoury ones still aren’t in keeping (actually, not at all) with my new regime. Despite being much better for you than standard cinema popcorn, they do still contain more sugar than I can have. So I decided to make my own Becca-friendly version.

Homemade popcorn is a great wholegrain, high fibre snack. Yes, it is a carb, but it’s low GI so doesn’t cause your blood sugar to spike and crash. Making it yourself gives you full control over the oil and salt content, unlike shop varieties. It’s also incredibly satisfying to watch those little kernels pop in the pan, and the smell of freshly made popcorn is heavenly. I love the combination of cinnamon and salt mixed together, lending that savoury and sweet mix I’m looking for. It hits the spot every time. It’s also rather virtuous as there is ZERO added sugar, so just watch out for the amount of salt you add…

 

Cinnamon and Salt Popcorn (serves 1)

  • 35g popcorn kernels
  • 1tsp rapeseed oil
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  1. Heat the oil in a heavy-bottom frying pan (you need a lid, too).
  2. Add the salt
  3. Add the kernels, and put the lid on. As the oil heats, the kernels will begin to pop.
  4. Keep shaking the pan gently to get the kernels moving, and keep an eye on the heat. You don’t want the kernels burning!
  5. When the kernels have all popped (there should be around a 5 second silence after the last one), carefully lift the lid.
  6. Sprinkle over the cinnamon and get stuck in!

 

Enjoy! Love Becca

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nothing beats home-made 🙂

    Like

    1. Becca Bakes says:

      Agreed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

