Lemon and Coriander Hummus

Sometimes the simplest things are the most delicious. Don’t get me wrong, elaborate dishes gracing your table can be things of beauty, but on a weeknight when you’re tired, or you’re craving something quick but oh, so comforting – this hummus is where it’s at.

The Brits are hummus obsessed. Last week, we had (I’m not even kidding) a National Hummus CRISIS when several supermarkets recalled all hummus stocks from their shelves after customers reported a ‘metallic taste’ in several batches. We had a meltdown. What would we do without our favourite dip?! People took to social media to air their fears and frustrations. People entered into crisis mode, and who can blame them?? Hummus is divine.

When I was little, I really disliked my Mum’s homemade hummus. I adore it now, but at the time, I couldn’t understand why she was making it at home, when it was so readily available in the supermarket. Of course, I didn’t consider the weekly grocery bill. My  family are all hummus lovers, who could easily devour several pots a week (not so cheap when this is the case).

Furthermore, cheaper hummus varieties contain a hefty portion of your daily calories owing to their oil content, so being health conscious and generally quite wonderful, my Mum would whip up batches all the time. As my taste buds adapted to the homemade ‘real’ stuff, I soon began to understand why homemade hummus is the best.

As a student, I would make hummus quite often. Apart from the more expensive tahini (a little goes a long way, though), one tin of inexpensive chickpeas can stretch a long way. I dollop it on salads as a dressing, add it to spicy turkey burgers instead of the bun, eat it straight from the pot with a spoon… I get through a lot of the stuff! Once you’ve mastered the base, you can play around with flavours according to your preference – less garlic, some spices, the possibilities are endless!

There is a bit of a debate amongst the hummus community about using dried chickpeas – I would maintain that this does tend to produce better results, but the essence of this post is speed and 12 hours’ soaking time doesn’t quite work in this setting. Therefore, for a quick and easy hummus, I would advocate using a tin.

Tip: make sure you taste as you go, and never add all your liquid in one go! Once it becomes too runny, there’s no going back! Add your olive oil to taste, and play around as much as you want with it. Enjoy!

For me, simple is usually best when it comes to hummus, but I adore the sharp zingy flavour of the coriander, which matches beautifully with the creaminess of the hummus.

 

Lemon and Coriander Hummus

  • 1 tin of 400g chickpeas, drained and water reserved.
  • large handful of fresh coriander, both leaves and stalks.
  • 1 heaped tsp tahini
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 3/4 lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  1. Drain the chickpeas, reserving the water in a glass.
  2. Blitz your coriander in a food processor or blender, adding a splash of chickpea water to get it down to a paste. Be careful with the amount you add though!
  3. Mix the tahini with the garlic and lemon juice.
  4. Add this to the coriander and the chickpeas, and blitz. Slowly add chickpea water and olive oil to get it to your desired consistency. I like it quite thick, so I don’t add too much liquid.
  5. Add a pinch of salt and some pepper, then gradually tip in more of the liquid until you reach your desired consistency. Taste, and season accordingly.

Enjoy! Love Becca x

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Christian says:

    Howdy! When you refer to fresh coriander, what is the american equivalent? I wanna say cilantro, but don’t know if that’s right.

    Like

    1. Becca Bakes says:

      Hey! Yes cilantro is the same thing as coriander, it’s just what we call it here in the UK 🙂

      Like

      1. Christian says:

        Aha! That’s what I figured. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

